Why Buy the Cow When You Can Get the Milk For Free?

Did you know you can make your own almond, rice or soy milk?

I stumbled upon this amazing fact when I was craving some Horchata and was too lazy to run to my nearest Taqueria. Always interested in finding out how to make things from scratch that would otherwise be purchased, I was intrigued.  Turns out, rice and nut based milks are a cinch to make and taste way better that their shelf stable alternatives.

Both Roem and I consider ourselves lactose intolerant with the occasional free pass to include things like ice cream and cheese.  I have long been a fan of milk alternatives when eating my morning cereal, but recently have tried to stay away from overdosing on soy products.  I discovered unsweetened almond milk and found I liked the taste better than my traditional soy.  In my quest to rid the WPP household of packaged products, I recently turned to making my own almond milk weekly and will never go back to the insipid boxes.

If you plan on making nut milk frequently, I suggest purchasing a nut milk bag that is reusable and can also sprout seeds like alfalfa or beans.   Alternatively, you can also use a fine mesh strainer or cheesecloth.

Editor’s Note:  The homemade almond milk sometimes separates in the fridge and needs to be shaken up before serving. For some reason, Roem hates this and my beautifully made nut milk will languish on the shelf unless I secretly shake it up every morning while making coffee.  Just remember that it separates because it doesn’t have any icky extra junk to hold it all together like gross stabilizers and drink up knowing your body loves the natural, pure milk.

Almond Milk

  • 1 Cup Soaked Almonds (Soak in a bowl in the refrigerator overnight)
  • 3 cups of water
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla (if desired)
  • Sweetener such as sugar, honey, ect. (if desired)

Drain and rinse the soaked almonds before combining them in the blender or food processor with the 3 cups of water. Add in the vanilla and blend until smooth.  Strain through a nut bag or cheesecloth and add sweetener if desired to the strained liquid.  You can store the milk in a lidded container, such as a mason jar, in the fridge for about 5-7 days.

Horchata

  • 1 1/4 cups long-grain white rice
  • 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup almonds
  • 4 cups water
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Pulverize rice with cinnamon in a food processor or blender with 2 1/2 cups of water until the rice is almost broken down completely.  Place in a 2-quart container with a tightfitting lid. Next, pulverize almonds until finely ground but not a paste. Add almond powder to rice-cinnamon mixture and stir to combine. Cover and let sit at room temperature for 12 hours.
  2. Add sugar to mixture and, using a blender, blend in batches on high until the mixture is as smooth as possible – there’ll still be a hint of grittiness when you rub a drop between your fingers.
  3. Pour mixture through a fine mesh strainer (or nut milk bag or cheesecloth) placed over a bowl. Using a rubber spatula, press on solids to extract all liquid, then discard solids.
  4. Add in 2 cups of cold water and transfer to a pitcher and chill in the refrigerator. Serve over ice.

Easy, right?  If you have any great recipes for the leftover almond meal let me know in the comments.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Why Buy the Cow When You Can Get the Milk For Free?

  1. Jo

    I’ve always wanted to do that!! I think that it’s crazy.

  2. You know I read our blog, right? Sneaky Sneakerson from Sneakville!

    Also, I love that you’re too lazy to go to the store so you make something. IMHO that’s not lazy at all.

  3. Leah

    I love this! I’m lactose intolerant too, but don’t care for most of the alternative options available…I’m inspired to try these recipes!! I’ll let you know how it goes 🙂

  4. So much easier than I thought it was, thanks for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

