A Few of My Favorite Things: Remodelista and Microwave Popcorn

There are two thing rocking my world right now that I must tell you about immediately.  You may remember back in January I wrote about my obsession with the restaurant Caseros in Buenos Aires and its gorgeous design.  I have recently found a website that is basically page after page of jaw dropping, gorgeous images that have turned my dropbox account into a fan club for the website known as Remodelista.

I know I’m a little late to the party in my obsession with Remodelista, which is even more apparent as I spend hours browsing their four years of archives.  This is not a website that I am content with just reading the highlights of each entry and tapering off when I hit the two year out mark.  I am literally at March 2008 and not stopping till I get to the end.  I love every category of home inspiration but I have to admit I’m partial to Steal This Look which features beautifully designed private and commercial spaces around the world and then translates them into home decor.

One image they use on Steal This Look is an inspiration photo that I used for our wedding reception.

Our cheese table for the Champagne reception in Golden Gate Park after our wedding.

They provide some beautiful sources to recreate this tablescape and although most of the items are out of my price range, it gives any design addict that’s good with research a place to start.   As soon as I discovered this mutual love for organic materials, raw edges, neutral tones and simplicity, I knew we would be able to go the distance.

Some other spaces that are causing me mini heart attacks over at Remodelista are their take on Delfina Pizza in SF, Mill Valley Beerworks and this exotic bathroom.  I wish I could bring this website to life and walk its hallowed halls for hours, completely absorbed in its chicness.  Blogs such as Remodelista are so special and such labors of love, and to this girl they are an art gallery.  Roem was not immune to her charms either, last night I fed him carefully prepared tidbits of the gorgeous images and he was still clicking late into the night.  When I nagged urged him to bed, he distractedly said, “I can’t.  I’m still looking at that BLOG.”

The other amazing thing I have to share with you is a hack for microwave popcorn.  It’s kind of a ritual around here in my office to make and share some afternoon popcorn.  Actually, the ritual really is that my amazing coworker makes popcorn for herself and generously shares some with me.  As she’s somewhere out in the Bahamas right now, I have had to fend for myself come 3:00pm.

I love microwave popcorn but hate all the sodium and artificial flavors that come in the packaged kind.  I’ve heard you can grab your own plain kernels and throw some in a paper bag to be popped in a microwave.  I finally brought the popcorn to work and using a stapler, had my packet ready to test.  After about 3.5 minutes in the microwave, it’s ready to share.

Microwave Popcorn

1/4 to 1/2 popcorn

Salt to taste

1/2 teaspoon oil, if desired (I don’t add any oil and mine is delicious)

Just put all the ingredients in the bag and fold over once and staple twice.  Let pop about 3.5 minutes or until there is a pause between popping kernels.

And that’s it!  it’s almost silly to write a recipe but I know when going the oil-free route I was a little nervous it wouldn’t work.  Just be sure and catch your popcorn before it burns or you will go from the most popular coworker to the one on par with the guy who puts the coffee pot back on the burner with just a sip left instead of remaking it.  No one likes that guy.

1 Comment

Filed under San Francisco, Uncategorized

One response to “A Few of My Favorite Things: Remodelista and Microwave Popcorn

  1. Courtney

    Uhhhh…Mazing!

Leave a Reply

